Swirls of Birthday Cake

Well I can’t believe my oldest daughter has just turned 9! Where does the time go!

When searching for ideas for her birthday cake I found a brilliant blog by a lady in Canada called Sweetapolita. She makes the most beautiful cakes I have seen and her recipes and tutorials are easy to follow. This was adapted from one of her cake recipes and I followed her pastel swirl cake tutorial with my daughters choice of colours.

I made the cake into 3 layers to ensure there was enough to go around and also to give it a dramatic effect….I love the outcome although I wish I had of taken some better photos of it but time was running out!

The cake was a huge success and complemented her birthday party at Arting Around perfectly!

20120801-110819.jpg

We spent her actual birthday in Italy on holiday and not to disappoint we had a lovely cake made from the local bakery while there and it was just as delicious!

20120801-111723.jpg

2 thoughts on “Swirls of Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

